final piece: sherbet bracelet

March 28, 2011 § Leave a comment


Guess what? My new camera arrived! To celebrate this happy occasion I’ve been taking photos of everything – parks, fruit salads, my own feet (accidental) and jewellery (of course!).

This is my new bracelet that emerged from the ideas and disaster zone I previously documented. Had a bit of trouble and kept fiddling with this: I have a very slim wrist and so bracelets have a tendency to fall off or hang very low on my hand, which I don’t like. So I had to adjust the links of beads a few times to work out the best length, and then it looked really sparse with just the one chain (see here) so I added another.

In the bracelet are agate rondelles, strawberry quartz nuggets, red Chinese crystal rondelles with an AB coating, yellow glass nugget, pink Swarovski crystals, and yellow iridescent seed beads in a peyote stitch band. The connector and findings are all silver plate with a frosted silver plate toggle fastener.

What I love: the colours of sherbet and sweeties and soon-to-be-summer; the contrast in textures and weights; the connector as a ‘bridge’ between the two different halves of the bracelet; that I worked out how to attach the peyote band (eventually) in a way that looks natural; that I completed a peyote band without going mad or making a huge mess; that I costed my time and materials effectively.

What I don’t love: that I didn’t use the connector as a bead frame (it has holes to thread something through but it just didn’t work); that my wrist is too small to make anything human sized; that I’d love to make it in sterling silver with a hammered clasp…but I don’t quite have that financial capacity yet!

I won’t be selling this item mainly because I want it for myself (hehe). But also because I’m not sure of the price point for customers: I’ve worked it out as selling for about £20-£24. What do you think?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading final piece: sherbet bracelet at EBS Jewellery.

meta

