custom work: emily’s summer necklace

March 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

This is the very first piece of custom work I have ever done, for my lovely friend Emily. She asked for ‘something with yellow’ in it. So here it is! There are so many beautiful beads in this, I’ll just go round and mention them all.

From top right, going round: vintage 1960s yellow glass connectors set in brass; Czech glass cubes (small and large); clear Chinese crystal; amazing handmade artisan lampwork beads by HMB Studios; citrine nuggets; acrylic rose cabochons; yellow glass nuggets; and a Greek ceramic flower pendant.

I hammered the toggle myself from pure brass wire, as well was wiring the individual components and creating the jump rings. Really love how the wrapped flower came out! I also created a seed bead ‘cage’ round the acrylic rose cabochons to hold them in place using Albion stitch.

For my first custom work, I am very (very) pleased with this necklace! My favourite thing about it is that when I’d finished, it reminded me of Emily – summery and happy, just like her. This piece has also been the first one where I have started to use very high quality and hand made components, including me working with the wire. Although it’s a little more expensive, it feels and looks so much more interesting that jewellery I’ve made before…a costly habit to get into, obviously!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to custom work: emily’s summer necklace

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading custom work: emily’s summer necklace at EBS Jewellery.

meta

