busy as a bee

May 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

This post is a little bit of a mishmash of lots of different things that, unfortunately, I haven’t been able to catch up with because I’ve been very busy!

Firstly, the Art Bead Scene Challenge had a great blog hop show casing lots of the different entries: through ABS I’ve found some excellent new jewellery bloggers so that’s great! Unfortunately I didn’t win but I loved doing it and they’ve put May’s challenge up here, and here’s the painting:

Cache-cache (Hide and Seek) by Berthe Morisot, 1873. The greens and dappled texture are beautiful, so I will have to see if I can fit in creating something for this month’s challenge.

I also missed out on Bead Table Wednesday so here’s a few things I’m working on at the moment. I finished this bracelet today:

It’s done with a simple tubular peyote stitch with a spiral of turquoise seed beads in the middle section, then two sections of metallic seed beads either end and a little clasp. I was going to make a solid bangle that you could slip on, but because of the different sized seed beads it didn’t sit smoothly in a circle – plus I would undoubtedly lose it if it fell off my hand!

The other pieces I have been experimenting with are after I received my wonderful packages from Avedis Beads (sigh).

They’re some new designs for ideas I’ve been working on, so hopefully over the next few weeks I will get some finished and photographed. Apologies for the slightly poor photos: it was getting dark by the time I got to photograph the jewellery!

In other news, I also got some fantastic storage for my ever growing collection of beads, so now they’re all housed in little drawers and are so much easier to get at and use. I also taught a recycled jewellery making workshop the other day for a local craft group: I’ll be putting up some photos of that soon.

§ 4 Responses to busy as a bee

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading busy as a bee at EBS Jewellery.

meta

