challenge: art bead scene May – my favourites

May 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

There’s still a couple of weeks to go on the May ABS challenge, and there’s some lovely pieces over on the Flickr pool. I thought I would share my favourite designs so far from the other challenge entrants.

First, it’s this great necklace by Tropical Blonde:

The mix of metals, brighter pops of colour, and how she’s chosen to include more hot colours than just greens really make this piece zing!

The second piece is a bracelet by Le Clair Rose Designs:

This bracelet isn’t what I might normally choose as it’s quite romantic, but the coral, sage green and cream just made me fall in love with it (she’s selling it in her Etsy shop too but it’s a little big for me…sigh).

What I like most about ABS is the ways in which people interpret the inspiration. As you can see from just the two above, they’re quite different, draw on different aspects of the painting, but still have the same core that artists and designers can work around.

I started putting some items together for my entry today, after worrying a bit about whether my colour scheme was exactly right for the painting – but after looking at all the entries I’ve realised it’s not about keeping to a strict design theme, but rather being inspired by an object to create something of your own, even if that takes you in a different direction.

That’s the lovely button from White Clover Kiln I received a few weeks ago, two lemon jade ovals, cream and copper Czech rondelles, a turquoise Picasso finish Czech flower with Swarovski crystal drop, and red polymer clay heart I made myself. Not sure about the red and greens combination yet but we’ll see.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to challenge: art bead scene May – my favourites

  • I also adore that bracelet by Le Clair Rose.

    And your own little collection is super super nice. Very tasteful!
    Looking forward to see it finished.

    I have something cooking myself, just need to sit down and put it together.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading challenge: art bead scene May – my favourites at EBS Jewellery.

meta

