a little trip … and a new feature

May 20, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’m quite excited because this weekend I am going to Brighton to visit my boyfriend who is currently living down there. Because of different events and things, he’s been visiting Leeds for the past month or so – this time it’s my turn!

Brighton is a really cool place: lots of fun shops, a wonderful dinky jewellery quarter, great restaurants and this amazing ice-cream parlour. It’s also got a pebble beach (rather than sand, which I really dislike) and a pier with daft rides on and slot machines. The old Brighton Pier burnt down years ago and all that’s left, in the middle of the sea, is the iron skeleton. It’s quite eerie when you walk along the beach at night to hear the crashing waves and see this huge black creature standing silent out there. Brighton is also the setting of one of my favourite books, Brighton Rock by Graham Greene.

Brighton is also – and this is why I am quite excited – the home of three bead shops! They’re all very different and have lots of great products, and every time I go down there I take a few hours out of seeing my boyfriend to browse round. Which I’m sure he doesn’t mind.

Visiting these new bead shops sparked an idea of mine. Every time I go to a new town or city, I always check to see what bead, jewellery, craft or fabric shops are there before I go. This is normal, right? Anyway, I love checking in to see what they’ve got, chat to the staff members and pick up some unusual pieces. This ‘habit’ has inspired me to start a new feature on my blog. Presenting…

The Bead Shops of Britain tour! There’s already a few sites with listings of the different shops and website addresses, but personally there’s nothing like seeing some customer pictures and getting the inside scoop on a shop before you go. Each shop I go to, I’ll take photos, highlight some of their best products and things about the shop I like, and try and get some information about the shop itself from the staff. Sounds like a good idea, right? Plus it means I get to go to bead shops on purpose now. Another purpose I mean, not just to buy beads!

I’ll be featuring a shop monthly on the blog: the first one will be next Monday, 23rd May.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to a little trip … and a new feature

  • Oh lucky you! Wish I could go there with you. And looking forward to following your new feature. What an awesome idea!!!!!!!

    And hey – what can you say. Brighton Rock by Graham Greene. Definetely in my top ten, if not even top five, or top three. Or is it top one?!? Cool you also like it. I like all his books really, but this one has a special place.

    Have a great weekend!

    • eleanorsnare says:

      Thanks Malin: yes, Brighton (and Brighton Rock) are both really cool! Hope you liked the new feature 🙂 I keep seeing beads and thinking ‘I should get some of those for a soup, or to send to one of the lovely beady bloggers’!

  • Alex says:

    Totally normal,glad it’s not just me that checks out where the crafty shops are before I visit somewhere! Or planning journeys just so I can pass somewhere and pop in! Would be good to see the shops you’ve visited, great idea.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a little trip … and a new feature at EBS Jewellery.

meta

