Bead Table Wednesday: 24/5/2011

May 25, 2011 § 8 Comments

I should probably note that my Bead Table Wednesday photos always look like a) they’re not on a table and b) that they’re not always works in progress, complete with tools, needles and wire lying around. My ‘bead table’ is also my ‘sewing table’ is also my ‘work desk’ is also ‘place to put stuff that hasn’t got anywhere else to go’. So my BTW posts are often things I’ve been working on that I’ve put away then got out to photograph (which is probably quite a good habit!) like these:

Old buttons mounted and beaded using seed beads and peyote stitch

Or this, which is finished in itself but needs either a brooch back or a chain or a cord to make it into a pendant:

Giant red washer-type bead back and stitched with seed beads using peyote stitch and some experimental things

And finally, this selection of beads as representative of a colour that I cannot get out of my head at the moment – purple!

Purple freshwater pearls, Czech glass flowers and firepolish, fluorite drops

I used to love purple as a young ‘un but went off it a lot in recent years, and now it’s back again! I can’t seem to stop thinking about incarnations of jewellery in purple tones, from pale lilac maybe with a grey right down to deep purple and gold.

This image is from the useful and super-cool Multicolr Search Lab: select your colours (up to 10) and it selects those Creative Commons photos on Flickr with those colours in! Could be a great tool for inspiration, maybe pick three colours, then pick a photo, and then create a piece of jewellery from it?

From Andy Miah via Creative Commons

From slack12 via Creative Commons

So that’s what’s on my table (and in my ideas tray) this week! What about you?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Bead Table Wednesday: 24/5/2011

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bead Table Wednesday: 24/5/2011 at EBS Jewellery.

meta

