La Bella Joya book giveaway

May 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

These past few weeks have been crazy for giveaways! I can’t believe how many there are going on: could people be any more generous?

The latest one, and one that I would love to win, is over on La Bella Joya aka Marcie who runs a wonderful blog and Etsy shop all about bead embroidering and beadwork. I’ve found Marcie’s work to be inspirational and she’s offering up a giveaway of Sensational Bead Embroidery: 25 Inspiring Jewellery Projects by Sherry Serafini, which looks like a fantastic book.

Marcie has asked those who’d like to be entered into the giveaway to comment and answer the following question:

What you think about bead embroidery? Do you like the big collars that win awards? Do you like embroidery on clothing or handbags? Have you ever done bead embroidery or are you interested in starting?

I’ve already commented over on the blog but thought I would post my thoughts here too.

When I first started getting into jewellery making, every bead embroidery piece I would see I thought ‘Hmmm. Not for me.’ Maybe the pieces I saw were too traditional, or I was looking at the wrong blogs and magazines, but I just didn’t like them at all. Then, when I started experimenting myself, I realised that bead embroidery was not all over-the-top, frilly jewellery that didn’t look cool and modern. It was this:

Pines and Palms Pendant by La Bella Joya

And this:

Asteria Necklace by The Crimson Moon

And this!

All in a Row bracelet by Fred Bean’s Nook

And also this!

Mad Rings 2 pattern by Heather Collin (go buy this, I did and it’s ace!)

I enjoy that bead embroidery can be both traditional and floral and all those other things, and the same techniques can be used to create fresh, modern designs like the ones above. I know some of these are more beadwork than bead embroidery but for me they all come under the heading of ‘work using tiny wee beads’. I haven’t seen any bead embroidery on clothing or bags yet that I really like, but I think that this is more to do with my love of pattern: patterned cloth plus bead embroidery plus jewellery might be a bit much!

I’ve been working more with seed beads lately and will be showing some of the finished articles on Wednesday for the Bead Table Wednesday post – along with some more of my musings on the subject. Anyway, if you’re interested, rush over to Marcie’s blog and take part in the giveaway!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading La Bella Joya book giveaway at EBS Jewellery.

meta

