Operation Tackle That Bead Stash – June

June 16, 2011 § 5 Comments

Another piece finished far before the end of the month – have you seen my piece for the June ABS challenge? I must be feeling ill or something…or super productive!

This month’s colour palette for Operation Tackle That Bead Stash was a combination of blues and silver:

I do use silver sometimes but not a lot when making jewellery for myself, and the blues I immediately thought of when looking at this veered away from my usual turquoise and teals into royal and dark blues. I struggled for a little while as I wanted to combine beadweaving with some strung pieces, and eventually came up with this necklace.

The small pendant is made from porcelain and comes from Two Scoops; the other beads are Czech firepolish in a cornflower blue, royal blue freshwater pearls, white pearl-finish seed beads stitched into a peyote tube, and silver plate findings.

The unusual chain originally came from a pendant I bought at a street market in Brighton – I think it might be from the 1960s or early 1970s. I also tried out a new peyote technique for making the tube which worked a lot better than tubular stitch…but not very exciting so won’t blather on about it here! Immediately after making this, I thought ‘Oh. That’s not very me’, and then as soon as I wore it…it looked ace! Paired it for the photo with the washed lilac-blue tshirt I made, and with a bright royal blue jersey dress for work. It also looks very cool with a grey and white striped men’s shirt, worn over the top of the buttoned up collar.

So that leads onto a little question for you: What do you think of photo shots with the jewellery paired up with different outfits? Quite a few bloggers take some great photos of themselves wearing their jewellery, and from this post and the ABS Challenge post I do think it works. So would you like to see more interesting jewellery and outfit combinations? Or do you prefer the plain jewellery shots where it is the centre of attention? I’d really like to hear your thoughts!

You can see the rest of the Operation Tackle that Bead Stash Flickr pool here – and there’s still time to tackle your blues and silver bead stash before the end of June!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Operation Tackle That Bead Stash – June

  • Ah! Elly! You always have the most interesting ways of looking at things, and making my mind start to wander. I am going through a period of in a sense pondering on the same question. I think my answer to it definately is “together with outfits” or “in a specific situation”. Simply because that’s how I think about my jewellery when I make it. I “see” either when, where, with what or by whom it shall be worn. (Wow, 6 words starting with W in that sentence!)

    Great post, and a very pretty and inspiring necklace. Royal blue and silver is a difficult colour scheme for me too. You did a great job!

    • eleanorsnare says:

      Thanks Malin for your compliments. The 4 Ws (when, where, with what, or who) could be an excellent starting point for a discussion: which W word is the most important to you when designing jewellery? I think the combination of all four is just as important as concentrating on one, and maybe it’s hard to design jewellery without thinking of all four at once.

      Anyway, now my mind is wandering! I’ve tried some more outfit shots with jewellery so will be able to see them in the next week or so.

  • Sarah says:

    Hi,

    Thank you for joining in with our challenge this month! Your necklace is beautiful, I love assymetrical pieces so much. I have to say thet although your necklace looks gorgeous flat, I do prefer the modelled shot here.

    Sarahx

    • eleanorsnare says:

      Thanks for your comments Sarah. I think often modelled shots give a better idea of what the item looks like ‘in real life’ if you see what I mean. I’ve done a few more ‘outfit shots’ with jewellery so it’s experimenting time I think! Looking forward to seeing the rest of the June entries at the end of the month.

  • […] had a pretty good week so far – I completed my ABS Challenge entry and my Operation Tackle that Bead Stash entry, as well as a bracelet for myself, and also for the Margie and Me Challenge (I’ll be showing […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Operation Tackle That Bead Stash – June at EBS Jewellery.

meta

