Sunday: some bad news

June 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’m afraid this is just a short post. Last night we had a big party at our house and my laptop was taken from my room by an unwanted party guest. They also took my boyfriend’s laptop, wallet and phone. We’ve cancelled the cards and phone, reported the laptops, and will be chasing up on them over the next few days.

Unfortunately this means that I am borrowing my housemate’s computer at present and so won’t be posting or responding as much online. I had, luckily, queued up lots of posts for the next week and so there will still be a lot coming out: but BTW is probably out this week unfortunately. I have lost most of my images that aren’t blogged or on Flickr, as well as some of my university work and downloaded documents.

I was very angry and upset about this last night but both my boyfriend and I have done everything we needed to and our friends are being very helpful in lending us use of laptops, even saying we can have their old ones if we need to! My purse, camera, and phone were all left, and neither of us were hurt in any way – so I think you have to be grateful for that.

Hopefully we will back up and online soon, but this combined with moving house, a dissertation to write, and a PhD application to complete…hasn’t been great. However angry and upset I might be, and annoyed at how inconvenient and expensive it will be to sort it all out, I still feel relatively calm because, after all, it’s just a thing – a useful, costly thing, but an object nonetheless.

So please, bear with me while we sort it all out and get up and running again. I’ll be back!

§ 2 Responses to Sunday: some bad news

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday: some bad news at EBS Jewellery.

meta

