Margie and Me June Challenge

June 23, 2011 § 2 Comments

I really like both the palettes for the Margie and Me challenge this month. You can see both and read more about the challenge over on La Bella Joya’s blog.

I decided to go for the brighter, ice-cream coloured palette because I love these colours anyway, and also because we just got some great new size 9 seed beads in at work in the exact colours of the palette! In making the piece, I wanted to evoke some of the shapes of the houses in the picture above, and also the feelings that immediately come to mind when I think of Miami: brashness, glamour, glitz, and a bit trashy. And I do love all of those things!

I used pastel coloured opaque and pearl finished seed beads in a peyote triangle stitch to create a small pendant, and combined it with ceramic cylinders (as seen here), brass wire, chain, and polymer clay beads.

I made the polymer clay beads myself by making round beads, baking, and then sanding into hex shapes when cool. I made wirewrapped links for all the beads, and also made large connector rings using brass wire that was hammered and sanded. I really like the pendant’s hanger which is just made from shaped wire with seed beads and wrapped loops at each end. Very simple technique that looks striking when combined with other elements.

I wore the necklace out in a simple outfit with a coral pink t-shirt and jeans for a press event. Although I didn’t use the greens and blues from the palette, I did get seed beads in those colours so would quite like to attempt making some more Miami-themed jewellery in time for summer (if it ever arrives here!)

Hope you like my Margie and Me June entry, and don’t forget there’s still time to take part. The final reveal of all the pieces will be June 28th…yes I know I’m early but what with moving I wanted to make sure I made it! Don’t forget, I always like to hear people’s comments on the jewellery I make so leave one here or tweet me @ebsnare. Over the last few days I’ve got some good feedback and I do really appreciate people taking the time to tell me what they think about my work (good or bad!).

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Margie and Me June Challenge

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Margie and Me June Challenge at EBS Jewellery.

meta

